Pont Blue Conservation Science logo

Pacific Flyway Shorebird Survey

Thank You Citizen Scientists and Partners for Making Wintering Shorebirds Count!

Citizen scientists and partner biologists conduct shorebird surveys throughout the Pacific Flyway each year between November 15th and December 15th.

Interested in Counting Shorebirds?

Citizen science is at the heart of the Pacific Flyway Shorebird Survey. Our hope is to recruit volunteers who are excited about taking ownership of a route and survey each year in order to contribute to the conservation of shorebirds and their habitats in the Pacific Flyway over the long term.


Time Commitment: ~3 days each year:
  • Training: Attend a protocol training session or watch the online training video prior to the survey.
  • Scouting: Become familiar with your site, make sure you know the access points and how long it will take to cover the area.
  • Survey: One day between November 15th and December 15th. (Coastal survey dates are determined by the tidal conditions at the site.)
The best candidates for the project will:

  • have their own optics (binoculars and scope)
  • posess reliable transportation
  • be willing to follow a protocol and enter data online into CADC
  • have computer knowledge and skills
  • have a passion for and dedication to shorebird conservation
  • be excited about making a long-term committment to the project

  • There are Citizen Science opportunities in the following areas. Please contact the project leader for more information.
    SiteContactInstitutionEmail
    CALIFORNIA
    Humboldt Bay Mark Colwell Humboldt State University Mark.Colwell@humboldt.edu
    Bodega Harbor Jackie Sones Bodega Marine Lab jlsones@ucdavis.edu
    Tomales Bay Emiko Condeso Audubon Canyon Ranch emiko@egret.org
    Bolinas Lagoon Lynne Stenzel Point Blue Conservation Science lstenzel@prbo.org
    San Francisco Bay Dave Shuford Point Blue Conservation Science dshuford@prbo.org
    Elkhorn Slough Susie Fork Elkhorn Slough Foundation skfork@gmail.com
    Morro Bay Andrea Jones Audubon California ajones@audubon.org
    Mugu Lagoon Martin Ruane NAVFAC martin.ruane@navy.mil
    Sacramento Valley Rice Monica Iglecia Audubon California miglecia@audubon.org
    San Diego Bay Khara Strum Point Blue Conservation Science kstrum@pointblue.org
    Mendota Wildife Area Khara Strum Point Blue Conservation Science kstrum@pointblue.org
    Kern NWR Complex Khara Strum Point Blue Conservation Science kstrum@pointblue.org
    OREGON
    Columbia River Estuary Vanessa Loverti USFWS Vanessa_Loverti@fws.gov
    Yaquina Bay Khara Strum Point Blue Conservation Science kstrum@pointblue.org
    Coos Bay Khara Strum Point Blue Conservation Science kstrum@pointblue.org
    WASHINGTON
    Puget Sound Gary Slater Eco Studies Institute glslater@ecoinst.org
    Grays Harbor Cyndie Sundstrom USFWS snowyplover@comcast.net
    Willapa Bay Khara Strum Point Blue Conservation Science kstrum@pointblue.org
    Columbia River Estuary Vanessa Loverti USFWS Vanessa_Loverti@fws.gov

    For general questions about volunteering or to inquire about a site not listed please contact: Khara Strum kstrum@pointblue.org